The Wendy Sarkissian Award

This award seeks to identify and celebrate community engagement practice that goes beyond standard good practice. We are calling for examples that stretch and inspire us through the demonstration of COURAGE in the practice of community engagement.

Dr Wendy Sarkissian is a Canadian-born, Australian planner who has specialised in community engagement for many decades, largely in Australian cities and towns. She is author of three award-winning books on community engagement and recipient of over forty professional awards. She is a Life Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia.

Wendy is also a passionate activist and agent for change in the planning profession, seeking to empower individuals and communities in the search for sustainable futures.

Read more about Wendy.


An award for courage on behalf of community 

In 2017 we awarded the inaugural Wendy Sarkissian Award for Courage in the Practice of Community Engagement.

Dr (Aunty) Wendy is very dear to us.  This award recognises her courageous approach to life and work.  Over the years we have learnt a great deal from her and we value her contribution enormously. 

This award aims to celebrate courage in the practice of community engagement so that we all learn and we all grow.  As a result, we will individually and collectively become braver in our professional lives.

Sign up as a member to be the first to hear about how to nominate/enter in 2018. 

2017 Winner

The 2017 award winner was announced at the opening session of the Engage to Act (Un)Conference on 13 September 2017. 

Winner: Sham Shui Po Fabric Market Participatory Planning Platform (from Hong Kong)

Pang Jai fabric sellers, their supporters and volunteers created a bottom-up plan to save Pang Jai from a forced Government closure. Read their courageous story in our press release or read the full winning entry.  

Delegates from Hong Kong who attended (un)Conference to receive the award with Aunty Wendy and E2A Board President Becky Hirst. 

Delegates from Hong Kong who attended (un)Conference to receive the award with Aunty Wendy and E2A Board President Becky Hirst. 

Many thanks to our 2017 judging panel:

  • Dr Wendy Sarkissian
  • Sandra Jerkovic - E2A Board
  • Desley Renton - E2A Board
  • Steven Weir - E2A Victoria Committee
  • Dan Popping - E2A SA Committee

For more information:

Call Desley Renton on +61 403 55 1656